Upcoming Shows

Hello all.

With spring in full swing I thought I’d give you a quick update about some gigs I have coming up over the next while.

I’m really pleased to be part of more Songwriters’ Circle shows over the upcoming months and there are some cracking acts lined up to join me including Edwina Hayes, Alan R Davison, Paul Gilbody & John Sloan. At these shows I’ll be talking a little about the songs I’m playing, describing how they were written & the inspirations behind them, and collaborating with the other songwriters with whom I’ll share the stage. Full details of all dates are on the LIVE DATES page.

Friday 27th May – The Steeple, Newburgh, Fife. (Songwriters’ Circle show with Alan R Davison, Paul Gilbody & John Sloan)

Friday 3rd June – Corstorphine Festival, Lucy’s Cafe, Edinburgh. (Songwriters’ Circle show with Alan R Davison & Paul Gilbody)

Saturday 11th June – Three Harbours Festival, Lighthouse Hub, Prestonpans, East Lothian. (Songwriters’ Circle show with Alan R Davison, John Sloan & Caroline Gilmour)

Monday 13th June – The Bedford, Balham, London.

Thursday 11th August – Edinburgh Festival Fringe, The Jazz Bar, Edinburgh. (Songwriters’ Circle show with Edwina Hayes & Alan R Davison)

Hope to see you at some of the gigs!


Hi all, hope you had a good festive period and that this year has started well for you.

Omid 20152015 was musically very productive and enjoyable for me with some great shows across the UK, the launch of the album Lift, radio airplay on the BBC and some writing too. It was lovely to finish off the year with The 12 Downloads of Christmas (the 5th year of them) so thanks to everybody who took the chance to download the rare tracks I made available. Recording some new ideas for the  12 Downloads… has also got me back into studio mode so watch this space for new album developments later in the year…

Thanks for your continued support (moral and retail!), hope to see you live soon.


The 12 Downloads of Christmas 2015

Thanks to everyone who has listened to or downloaded this year’s #12DownloadsofChristmas. Hope you’ve enjoyed hearing the new songs, demos, remixes and even a couple of covers too!
They’ll stay up until Hogmanay so still a few days to download them all.

Here’s the full list:

1. Winterland
2. Requiem
3. Stolen Car
4. Buckled
5. A Whole Heap of Trouble
6. Once I’m Gone – BVs & Beats remix
7. Casablanca Face – acoustic mix
8. Take a Little Time
9. Oliver Gray
10. Some Day One Day
11. This Ship – extended mix
12. On Christmas Day

12 Downloads of Christmas – 4 more to go!

We’re two thirds of the way through the #12 DownloadsofChristmas and there’s been a really great response so far. You can listen for free to the tracks as soon as they’re posted and download them at your leisure…or at least until they come down just after Christmas!

The 12 Downloads of Christmas

With December in full swing and Christmas fast approaching, I’m very pleased to announce the return of The 12 Downloads of Christmas.

We’ll be posting a live, rare, previously unreleased or classic DK track every day from the 13th December right up to Christmas Eve, for you to download and keep…and they’ll all be absolutely free.

The first of the 12 songs for this year is a brand new Christmas song, Winterland, which you can hear by clicking below:

The 12 songs will be posted on the Douglas Kay Soundcloud page and you can access the tracks as soon as they’re posted by clicking HERE.

Next Gig – Sunday 15th November 2015

DK_AD 31st Oct 2015It was great to be playing live at one of Oxfam’s series of Oxjam music events last weekend. Alan R Davison joined me at The Outhouse for an enjoyable set which also included a couple of Alan’s tracks.

I’m back on stage this Sunday – once again for charity – when I play as part of Edinburgh Omid. I’ve played at the charity’s benefits for the past three or four years and am delighted to have been asked back, and I’m even more delighted that this year I’ll be playing with the band. This will be the first DKB gig in a few months so looking forward to taking the stage alongside Hugh and Alex. The show is on Sunday night (15th Nov) from 7.30pm at Voodoo Rooms, Edinburgh. For more details see the LIVE DATES page or check out the Facebook Event Page.


I’m pleased to be returning to live action this weekend after a couple of months break.

On Saturday 31st October I’m playing a special Oxjam charity gig at The Outhouse in Edinburgh, and I’m delighted to say that I’ll be joined for that set by Alan R Davison.

I follow that with another benefit show, this time for children’s charity Edinburgh Omid, which takes place on Sunday 15th November at Voodoo Rooms, Edinburgh. That gig will be the first outing with the band since April so very much looking forward to that.

Full details are on the Live Dates page.